Football Gazette's Small College Football Blog

Don Hansen's Football Gazette Blog of information, comments, notes, and tidebits on Small College Football. NCAA 1-AA & Mid Major, Division II & Mid Major, Division III, NAIA, and NCCAA

Wednesday, August 09, 2006

College Football Hall of Fame Enshrinement Class Headed for Immortality

The National Football Foundation & College Hall of Fame

20 Hall of Famers forever enshrined August 11-12 at Hall of Fame in South Bend, Ind.

SOUTH BEND, Ind., August 8, 2006 – Fifteen players and five coaches will receive college football’s highest honor when they are officially enshrined into The National Football Foundation’s (NFF) College Football Hall of Fame on August 11-12 in South Bend, Ind.

The 2006 College Football Hall of Fame Enshrinement Class

2006 College Football Hall of Fame Enshrinement Class

Division I-A Class:

Cornelius Bennett - LB, Alabama, 1983-86 Tom Curtis - DB, Michigan, 1967-69 Anthony Davis - RB, Southern California, 1972-74 Keith Dorney - OT, Penn State, 1975-78 Jim Houston - E, Ohio State, 1957-59 John Huarte - QB, Notre Dame, 1962-64 Roosevelt Leaks - FB, Texas, 1972-74 Mark May - OT, Pittsburgh, 1977-80 Joe Washington - RB, Oklahoma, 1972-75 Paul Wiggin - DT, Stanford, 1954-56 David Williams - WR, Illinois, 1983-85

Pat Dye - East Carolina (1974-79), Wyoming (1980), Auburn (1981-92),
Don Nehlen - Bowling Green (1968-76), West Virginia (1980-2000), 202-128-8

Divisional Class:

Kevin Dent – DB, Jackson State, 1985-88
John Friesz - QB, Idaho, 1986-89
Ronnie Mallett - E, Central Arkansas, 1979-81 Jerry Rice - WR, Mississippi Valley State, 1981-84

Dick Farley – Williams (Mass.) (1987 – 2003), 114-19-3 John Gagliardi – Carroll (Mont.) (1949-52), St. John’s (Minn.) (1953-Present), 432-118-11 Skip McCain – Maryland State (1948-63), 102-21-5 (posthumously)

2006 Enshrinement Festival Award Honorees

A distinguished career in college football broadcasting Johnny Holliday, University of Maryland broadcaster

Distinguished service to the college football writing profession and the Football Writers Association of America John Junker, Tostitos Fiesta Bowl President/CEO

** Visit for biographies **.


Media access, in person at the College Football Hall of Fame in South Bend, Ind. or over the phone, for all members of the 2006 College Football Hall of Fame Enshrinement Class will be available on:

* Friday, August 11 between 7:30 am - 9:00 am (EDT)
* Saturday, August 12 between 11:30 am - 12:30 pm and 3:00 pm - 4:00 pm.


A satellite feed that includes 30-second interviews with each member of the
2006 Hall of Fame Class, event highlights and b-roll of the Hall’s interior and exterior will be available at digital space coordinates AMC5, transponder 12B on both days with new footage added at:

* Friday, August 11 between 3:30 pm - 3:45 pm (EDT); and
* Saturday, August 12 between 9:00 pm - 9:15 pm

Please contact Public Relations Coordinator David Saba for interview requests and an advance copy of your media packet(s) and press credential(s). Saba can be contacted at 574-235-5717

2006 Enshrinement Festival Schedule


Enshrinement Celebrity Golf Scramble
Registration - 7:30 a.m., Shotgun Start - 9:00 a.m. (Blackthorn Golf Club, South Bend, Ind.)

Enshrinement Gathering on the Gridiron
5:00 p.m. – 10:00 p.m. (Outdoor concert on the Hall of Fame’s Gridiron

Autograph Session “A”
5:30 p.m. – 6:30 p.m. (Hall of Fame Gridiron Plaza – Autograph Tent)


Enshrinement FanFest
9:00 a.m. - 5:00 p.m. (Hall of Fame and surrounding area)

Enshrinement Parade
9:30 a.m. - 11:30 a.m. (Downtown South Bend)

Autograph Session “B”
11:30 a.m. – 12:30 p.m. (Hall of Fame Gridiron Plaza – Autograph Tent)

Enshrinee Flag Football Game
12:45 p.m. - 1:30 p.m. (Hall of Fame Gridiron Plaza)

Enshrinee Youth Football Clinic
1:45 p.m. - 2:45 p.m. (Hall of Fame Gridiron Plaza)

Enshrinee Autograph Session “C”
3:00 p.m. – 4:00 p.m. (Hall of Fame Gridiron Plaza – Autograph Tent)

Enshrinement Reception, Silent Auction, & Dinner and Show Reception and Silent Auction: 6:00 p.m., Dinner and Show: 7:30 p.m.
(Century Center)
Event features the official enshrinement of the 2006 Hall of Fame Class as well as the presentation of the Chris Schenkel Award to University of Maryland broadcaster Johnny Holliday and the Bert McGrane Award to Tostitos Fiesta Bowl President/CEO John Junker.

** Visit for more details on the schedule**

The College Football Hall of Fame, an initiative of The National Football Foundation, stands as one of the nation’s premier sports shrines, preserving and dramatizing the history of the game to an ever broadening audience of fans while holding up the greatest players and coaches as role models who highlight the game’s positive values. For more information on the College Football Hall of Fame and its 2006 Enshrinement Festival, visit

With 119 chapters and 12,000 members nationwide, The National Football Foundation & College Hall of Fame, a non-profit educational organization, runs programs designed to use the power of amateur football in developing scholarship, citizenship and athletic achievement in young people. Learn more at

Phil Marwill, NFF director of communications
Phone: 800-486-1865, ext. 118

David Saba, public relations coordinator College Football Hall of Fame
Phone: 574-235-5717


Post a Comment

<< Home