Football Gazette's Small College Football Blog

Don Hansen's Football Gazette Blog of information, comments, notes, and tidebits on Small College Football. NCAA 1-AA & Mid Major, Division II & Mid Major, Division III, NAIA, and NCCAA

Saturday, May 20, 2006

2006 College Football Hall of Fame Divisional Class Announced

The National Football Foundation & College Hall of Fame, Inc.


News and Notes from around college football for May 15, 2006

2006 College Football Hall of Fame Divisional Class Announced

Legendary Coach John Gagliardi (Carroll College (Mont.), Saint John’s Univ.
(Minn.)) and All-America wide receiver Jerry Rice (Mississippi Valley State) lead a list of seven inductees chosen from the NCAA Divisions I-AA, II and III and the NAIA to enter the College Football Hall of Fame in 2006. Kevin Dent (Jackson State), John Freisz (Idaho), Ronnie Mallett (Central Arkansas), and Coaches Dick Farley (Williams) and Vernon “Skip” McCain (Maryland State) round out the list of the newest Hall of Famers who will be enshrined at the College Football Hall of Fame in South Bend, Ind., this August. Gagliardi’s 432 career victories lead all coaches in the history of college football, while Rice set numerous Division I-AA receiving records, including single-season receptions (103) and receiving yards (1,450) while on his way to two All-America selections. Dent earned three All-America selections at Jackson State; Freisz captured the 1989 Walter Payton Award as Division I-AA’s Player of the Year; and Mallett becomes Central Arkansas’
first inductee into the College Football Hall of Fame. Farley and McCain both recorded winning percentages over .800 during their careers and never experienced a losing season in a combined 33 years as head coaches. The Division I-A Class will be announced at a press conference on May 16 at 11:00 a.m.

A&M Hall of Famer John Kimbrough Dies at 87

John Kimbrough, a two-way star for the 1939 national champion Texas A&M Aggies and the first Aggie player inducted into the College Football Hall of Fame, died last Monday in Haskell, Texas, his hometown. He was 87. A bruising, 6-2, 210-pound fullback, Kimbrough bowled his way through Southwest Conference defenses on his way to All-America honors in both 1939 and 1940. During those two years, the Aggies combined for a 20-1 overall record and captured the 1939 national championship, following a victory over Tulane in the Sugar Bowl. In 1940, he finished second in the Heisman Trophy balloting to Tom Harmon of Michigan. Kimbrough in fact captured the Southwest region of Heisman balloting in both 1939 and 1940.

Former Rebel Chucky Mullins May Have #38 Retired

Ole Miss is contemplating permanently retiring #38 in honor of Chucky Mullins, the former Rebel who was paralyzed making a tackle in a game against Vanderbilt in 1989 and later died in 1991, the school announced last week. The Rebels currently honor the memory of their inspirational defensive back by awarding the team’s most outstanding defensive player with the Chucky Mullins Courage Award. With the award, the winner receives the honor and opportunity to wear Mullins’s #38 for the following season. Since 1990, 17 players have received the award, including 2006 preseason All-America linebacker Patrick Willis this past April.

Two-Minute Drill

Harold Robinson, the first African-American scholarship player in the Big Seven conference, a precursor to the Big 12, died at the age of 76. He played for Kansas State in 1949 and 1950... Texas A&M settled a lawsuit with the NFL’s Seattle Seahawks over the Aggies “12th Man” nickname for their fans. Both teams will be able to continue using the moniker... Oklahoma head coach Bob Stoops caught a ride with the Navy’s Blue Angels flight team prior to their performance at the Texas Thunder 2006 Air Show last week...
Cincinnati cornerback John Bowie captured the 100-meters individual title at the Big East’s outdoor track and field championships last weekend...

Nebraska and Virginia Tech agreed to a home-and-home series in 2008 and 2009... Central Florida announced their first opponent in their new on-campus stadium, scheduled to open in Orlando on September 15, 2007, will be the Texas Longhorns... Arkansas and Texas will renew their old Southwest Conference rivalry with games in 2008 and 2009. Texas also added TCU to their 2007 schedule and UTEP in 2008 and 2009...

The University of Illinois received permission from the school’s board of trustees to begin renovations on 83-year-old Memorial Stadium following the
2006 season... The new scoreboard to be installed at Texas’ Royal-Memorial Stadium will be 7,370 square feet, the largest scoreboard in the country...
Western Michigan’s Waldo Stadium will feature new FieldTurf when it hosts Southern Mississippi in their home opener on September 17... South Carolina is exploring the possibility of adding up to 8,000 seats to Williams-Brice Stadium in the next few years... Marshall’s season-ticket sales have increased 20% over their pace last year, due in no small part to renewing their in-state rivalry with West Virginia, which visits Huntington in 2007...

Former Hurricanes Ray Lewis, Ryan McNeil and Darrin Smith led a list of seven 2006 inductees into the University of Miami Sports Hall of Fame last week... Texas Tech head coach Mike Leach received the Johnny Vaught Head Coach Award last Monday in Dallas... Iowa State honored 30 football student-athletes who maintained at least a 3.0 GPA at their 2006 Scholar-Athlete Recognition Banquet...

The Emerald Bowl, which will be played in primetime this year, announced a three-year extension of its title sponsorship with Diamond Foods, Inc... The NFL Network reached a multiyear agreement with the Insight Bowl to televise their games...

Stephen A. Smith, host of ESPN2’s Quite Frankly, will address the audience at the opening session of the 19th Annual Black Coaches Association National Convention and Expo on May 31 as the keynote speaker... Sports Illustrated recently ran a featured interview with former UCLA quarterback Mark Harmon, the NCIS star and son of 1940 Heisman Trophy winner Tom Harmon...

Georgia Tech head coach Chan Gailey will cede play-calling duties this year to offensive coordinator Patrick Nix... Longtime Northern Illinois sports information director Mike Korcek will retire in June after 22 years serving that role for the Huskies... Kansas added former Jayhawk quarterback Bill Whittemore as the offensive graduate assistant... Former Spartans Jason Strayhorn and Jim Miller will join veteran George Blaha in the Michigan State radio broadcast booth this season.

Schedule Spotlight: The Big Ten

Team – Date – First Opponent (Home/Away)

Illinois – September 2 – Eastern Illinois (H) Indiana – September 2 – Western Michigan (H) Iowa – September 2 – Montana (H) Michigan – September 2 – Vanderbilt (H) Michigan State – September 2 – Idaho (H) Minnesota – August 31 – Kent State (A) Northwestern – August 31 – Miami (OH) (A) Ohio State – September 2 – Northern Illinois (H) Penn State – September 2 – Akron (H) Purdue – September 2 – Indiana State (H) Wisconsin – September 2 – Bowling Green (A)

NFF Contacts
Phil Marwill.......Director of Communications Chris Caputo.......Communications Assistant
22 Maple Ave.
Morristown, NJ 07960


Post a Comment

<< Home